Patient Testimonials

I was diagnosed by Mr Kim in 2014, as having osteoarthritis in my right hip. I was told this was not uncommon as i had been playing football all my life,some of it professionally. Mr Kim was friendly, patient, very professional and explained every aspect of the condition, procedures, choices and possible results of any decisions made. I had suffered with my deteriorating hip for some time and it was now affecting walking freely,at times moving more like somebody a lot older than my 54 years of age. The pain i had at times was intense,mostly in my right groin made worse by the sitting position and especially driving the car,which at times was excruciating. I decided to procede with hip arthroscopy and microfracture, rather than the alternative, a full hip replacement, after considering all avenues, options, and outcomes with Mr Kim. The operation was performed in October 2014 at the Spire hospital Manchester by Mr Kim and i am extremely happy with the results. I am now back in work, moving freely and symptom free, attending the gym 4 to 5 times a week and following Mr Kim’s advice to avoid high impact exercise, like treadmills and to prolong the joint as long as possible. I would highly recommend Mr Kim and the alternative to a full hip replacement even if this means you are just delaying the full replacement to some time in the future. A big thank you again to Mr Kim and everyone at the Spire hospital Manchester who took great care of me.
I had a total hip replacement in December 2013 and a total knee replacement 7 days ago. My new hip has given me a new lease of life without pain. I was able to take part in exercise and walking without impingement. I was diagnosed with knee failure in September 2015 and was able to speak to Mr Kim about my knee. He is honest and frank about the exercise in preparation for the operation and rehab. Mr Kim is a caring and highly experienced surgeon. He is supportive to your needs and worries. I hope this is the last operation I will have for a while. I would highly recommend Mr Kim if you want 100% of your life active and pain free!
I had right hip arthroscopy, carried out by Mr Kim. I was really impressed by the amount of information I received in both the consultation and pre op. The aftercare was superb. After 12 months of continuous pain and discomfort, I had forgotten what normality felt like. 1 week after op felt good, 6 weeks after feel marvellous. A massive Thank you. A.Lewis
I had a left hip replacement 3 years ago. From the first consultation and throughout the treatment, I found Mr. Kim Most helpful in explaining what would be required for the operation. On the day of the operation he put me completely at ease as this was my first operation & I was very nervous. Post operation he helped me very much and the support staff and physio were excellent in aiding my recovery. I had several reviews to check on the healing & mobility progress all very helpful until I was discharged. I have made an excellent recovery without any disability. Thanks to Mr. Kim
Male Aged 36 August 2014 – Right hip arthroplasty, labral debridement, microfracture chondroplasty Mr Kim performed a right hip arthoscopy to repair damage in my right hip in August 2014. I had been experiencing moderate discomfort in my right hip for several years, but this had worsened significantly in mid 2013 onwards. I am now 6 months post op and I am pleased to say that the symptoms I was experiencing are beginning to disappear. The rehabilitation process has been quite lengthy – 8 weeks on crutches TTWB post op with a very gradual return to light activity, building up to more progressive exercise from month 4/5 onwards. For the first time in a number of years I feel able to squat and deep flex without feeling a painful ‘clunking’ sensation in my right hip and I am slowly beginning to get back to hill walking and light mountain biking. I am hoping to return to 5 a-side football in summer 2015. For me the key part of the process has been Mr Kim taking time to diagnose my problems and then effectively managing my expectations in terms of the recovery process. He has always taken time to explain the diagnostic and the surgical process and I have always felt entirely comfortable and safe under his care. I would unreservedly recommend Mr Kim. Mike Doyle Cheshire
I have recently had a replacement hip operation in November 2014 at the Alexandra hospital, the consultant who performed the operation was excellent in his standard of care, before the operation I attended a consultation with Mr Winston Kim, he made me feel very calm and Informed me on the procedure and everything what is involved, everything went really well, also the after care has been excellent, I have felt assured and at ease with the whole procedure , I am so grateful to Mr Winston Kim (consultant) for his care and understanding.
Every so often something exceptional and unique occurs in medicine and surgery and,in Winston Kim,we see the personification of these qualities. He has a mature and sensitive consultation technique ,supporting his patients and their families way beyond the call of duty,inspiring confidence and trust. His surgical results , and clinical backup, for the writer, confirm these opinions. I am proud to know him and to be one of his patients. Dr Raymond Million
Patient who had Hip Arthroscopy
I saw Mr Kim as a private patient with symptoms of pain in my right hip and leg. An MRI scan showed a cartilage tear and some arthritis. I found Mr Kim very sympathetic and knowledgeable and also most accessible, being willing to discuss problems out of surgery time on the phone. The decision to have a second steroid injection or an arthroscopy was difficult as my symptoms were not text -book. Mr Kim took a great deal of time and trouble explaining the ramifications of each path, we jointly decided on an arthroscopy. This has been carried out very successfully.
Patient after Hip Arthroscopy
I am a 46 year old male and after over 10 years of intermittent pain, sometimes excruciating unable to walk, mainly in the middle of the night and unbearable stiffness to my left hip, numerous years taking diclofenac, numerous xrays and blood test ,and a session of physio therapy, I was referred to Winston Kim who arranged a MRI scan , this identified a labarum tear and restricted movement in my hip , I was admitted to spire hospital 21st August for labarum reattachment and a bone trim ,after ONE DAY i felt no pain at all and after one week i was walking without crutches , the movement has improved immensely and i have experienced no pain at all , and i expect at this rate to improve by 99% ,I can now enjoy a normal life . M K JEFFREYS , BURY.
Young patient after hip arthroscopy and labral repair surgery
Mr Kim performed a labral repair on my right hip. Please thank Mr Kim once again for his wonderful work. The surgery has been a great success and my hip is recovering well. Patient RW
Young patient after Hip Arthroscopy Labral repairs and osteoplasty
I had a right hip arthroscopy Dec 2013 under Mr Winston Kim’s care for early hip arthritis and hip labral tears. Prior to the procedure I had daily discomfort in my hip joint and it was affecting my day to day life, causing awareness of pain whilst driving, and affecting my ability to enjoy sports (golf). Recovery was more difficult than I had anticipated (even though I was warned!) but after 4 months, I am totally back to normal and able to lead a normal life; remarkable improvement in the pain experienced. Would advice patients are complaint with the exercises and physio afterwards which is crucial and helpful. R Mackinnon, April 2014
Young Patient After Hip Replacement Surgery
All testimonials below are written by patients, the majority of which are found in independent, verifiable websites. (please click on web links below).
Having Suffered Arthritis of the left hip for approximately 12 years, I decided that due to the increasing pain and reduction in life style that action was required. Dr Kim came highly recommended by a friend and former football teammate who had previously undergone a hip replacement operation performed by Dr Kim. His pre-op consultation was concise and extremely informative yet provided an air of assurance of the results and benefits that this process would bring to my life. This in turn completely overturned my initial hesitancy and concerns undertaking this operation into one of total confidence. Again both during the process and post op, the level of support and communication has been outstanding, with Dr Kim always being available to discuss any questions or Issues. Without doubt I would highly recommend Dr Kim.
Mr John Bent, Co-Founder Bents Garden and Home, Feb 2014 after Hip Surgery
Mr Kim, Thank you for the great job you have done on me I thought my walking days were over and I would have to be satisfied with being am old man , suddenly I seem to have a new lease of life . Thank you. John Bent , Co-founder Bents Gardens and Home, Feb 2014.
Professor R Green after Hip Replacement
Mr Kim, Thank you for the care I received from you and your team for my total hip replacement. The care I received was exemplary and my recovery is progressing excellently. Once again, thanks for all your care and attention.
Yours faithfully, Emeritus Professor Roger Green, FRCP, Hon DSc,MD, Former Dean, Medical School, University of Manchester, March 2014.
Patient after Hip Surgery
Mike F, Cheshire
I am 56 years of age and keen on sports. For the last 2 years I have had problems with my hip. I went to see Dr Kim on a recommendation and found him to be: (i) deeply interested in me as a patient, (ii) sympathetic to the pain I was in, (iii) very clear in explaining the options open to me, and (iv) an expert in his area. In summary, all you want from a doctor when you are facing a big decision such as a major operation. I first had keyhole surgery to clean up the hip and buy me some time and pain relief which was effective for 15 months and then I had a total hip replacement on my left side. Being a nervous patient, Dr Kim put me at my ease and the confidence he exuded helped me to relax. Needless to say the operation was a great success and I am now mobile after only 6 weeks, walking 4 miles a day and back in the gym. I want to highlight one event which I think sums up Dr Kim’s approach – seven days after my operation Dr Kim went on vacation to North America but he took the time to continue to check on my progress by phone and email and when I mentioned that I had a soreness around the surgical wound, he contacted my GP and prescribed a drug to clear up the inflammation – this is an excellent example of after care. A nice guy and an excellent surgeon.
Young patient who had AVN and Hip Replacement
Mr Kim is an excellent consultant and surgeon. I first met him 5 years ago when I started with necrosis of my right hip..I needed a total hip replacement . Unfortunately due to other problems infections, kidney failure ,and others, the operation was postponed several times . MR Kim was most patient and understanding and eventually in Sept 2013 I had the surgery. By then my other leg was considerable shorter so I was apprehensive about the results. His skills however have produced amazing results. I am upright and pain free ,the scare is neat and I am so happy to be so mobile again. I would not hesitate to recommend Mr Kim for surgery.
Patient after hip surgery
Thank you for the treatment I have received from yourself and your staff. You went out of your way to make myself and my husband feel at ease both before and after my hip replacement. The aftercare I have received from yourself, your secretary and staff on the ward has been excellend and as I have said I cannot thank you enough, Best wishes Mrs H C, from Salford, 7th Feb 2014.
Young patient after hip replacements
Unfortunately, 18 months ago at the age of 47 I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis of both hips and required replacements. Fortunately I was referred to Mr Kim who immediately made me feel at ease at the initial consultation with his professional explanation coupled with an exceptional reassuring manner. Within 4 months Mr Kim replaced both hips and literally got me back on my feet. This man is not only an excellent surgeon but it is a pleasure to be in his company all be it through a surgical purpose. Mr P Monaghan
Patient after complex hip replacement surgery
Many thanks to Mr Kim and his team for the care both before and during my operation. The operation has given me a new lease of life now that I am no longer experiencing severe in my hip. Mr Kim was extremely supportive and attentive throughout, and I would recommend him unreservedly to anyone looking for hip surgery. Will Cleary
Patient after hip replacement surgery
I cannot recommend Mr Kim highly enough. He is the most attentive, warm and approachable Consultant I met during my search to find a surgeon to perform my hip operation and, being nervous about it, I had consultations with four others. Mr Kim explained the procedure thoroughly and discussed the type of hip joints available, taking my preferences into consideration, when advising me. His surgical skill in replacing my hip has left me pain-free, and able to resume my normal (and very hectic) way of life without restriction. His aftercare has also been first-class too.
Patient who had a right re-do (revision) total hip replacement and left hip replacement
I saw Mr. Kim in 2011 with right hip problems, I was using crutches and wheelchair. My hip replacement of 2009 (carried out in Australia had failed) and Mr Kim did the reconstruction, bone graft etc., in January 2012. His care and attention was second to none. I had my left hip replacement in August this year and again he was marvellous. I would recommend him to anyone, Mrs G
Young patient after 2 hip replacements
I have had two total hip replacements performed by Mr Kim and the results have both been first class. At the initial assessment and throughout the treatment plan he maintains a confident and reassuring manner. Recommended procedures are carefully matched to the patient and thoroughly explained, along with the likely long term outcomes. He is a talented and meticulous orthopaedic surgeon and highly recommended.
Patient’s family after Hip Replacement Surgery
Please accept these few words of thanks as a token of my appreciation for your kindness, expertise and professionalism in caring for my mother. Patient ADL’s family
Patient after Revision Hip Surgery
Written by a patient
Mr Kim is an excellent Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon who has carried out hip revision surgery on my left hip. Mr Kim talked me through the initial diagnosis on my hip in detail and proposed what has proved to be a very successful solution to my hip problem. Post revision surgery Mr Kim was always available and arranged the necessary Physiotherapy to aid my recovery. During my follow up consultation Mr Kim provided me with as much information as I required about the functionality of the new hip joint, I could not possibly of received a higher standard of care for my hip problem.
Patient after hip surgery
I cannot praise Mr Kim highly enough. He is warm,caring and obviously highly proficient…..all the qualities one seeks in a consultant but all too rarely finds. I really felt he listened to me and understood how I was feeling…I had complete confidence in him at all times. Six months after hip surgery I am free from pain and can get on with my life.
Young patient after hip replacement
I would highly recommend Mr. Winston Kim. The first time I met him for my consultation about my hip problem, I knew that I had been very fortunate in my choice of Orthopaedic Surgeon. He was friendly, caring but most professional and when he advised me that I should have a total hip replacement I had total confidence in him. The operation went very well and now 6 weeks later with the help of my physiotherapy sessions, I am almost fully recovered and can even walk well without any crutches. My most sincere thanks to Mr. Kim for the wonderful job that he did. By Mr B H
Young patient after hip replacement
I had a hip replacement in May 2012 performed by Mr. Winston Kim whom I found to be very approachable, imformative and sympathetic.
Mr. Kim explained about the operation to me which put me at ease as I had been quite anxious up to this point.
The operation went well and the aftercare I received from Mr. Kim and the nursing staff was excellent
I had several follow up appointments as is the norm, each time I saw Mr. Kim personally.
I would not hesitate to have further treatment from Mr. Kim should the need arise.
Patient after complex re-do (revision) hip surgery for a worn hip replacement
Thank you for the great hip revision that you have achieved for me. Just as you said, it has taken about ten months for me to have a good range of movement and enjoy life again. Patient EL
Patient after Complex Hip Surgery (Re-do Hip Surgery)
Mr John Richard Norcott wife Brenda
My name is John Richard Norcott aged 57. It gives me the greatest of pleasure to statel my expression of thanks to such a marvellous surgeon namely Mr Kim of Salford Royal Hospital who specialises in Hip and Knee conditions.
My story began in July 2004 where I had my first left hip replacement under a different surgeon. Unfortunately the operation was not a success leaving me with lots of pain and infection and still in severe hip pain for the years up until meeting with Mr Kim and his team in May 2013.
My quality of life was basically very limited as I was also waiting for my right total hip replacement to be done leaving me using aids to move around including wheelchairs and sticks. The chronic pain in both hips also effected not just me but to my wife and family. I was housebound for many years then the first appointment with Mr Kim arrived and from then all that I can say is he took over the whole situation giving us hope and encouragement with regards to the two hips being totally replaced. Along with this he was very truthful of the dangers of these operations as I was obese, diabetic and hypertensive.
I had to have a revision hip replacement and total hip replacement on the other side.
The outcome was fantastic, barely any after pain and was sat in my chair on the ward by late afternoon, the care and aftercare was second to none.!
Five month’s later I had my completed total right hip replaced but with greater danger because of my other health conditions. Given reassurance from Mr Kim and his team all went tremendously well. I was given 24 hr intensive care treatment as a precaution but was not needed as I sailed through the revision operation without a hitch, again the aftercare by him and his team was perfection itself !
I was home within a couple of days. All that I can say is that if anybody needs either hip or knee replacements please do not hesitate to ask for the attention and professionalism of Mr Kim and his fantastic team. There is no need for being anxious as from the moment you meet Mr Kim and the team you are put at ease feeling confident and actually looking forward to the operation.
I now walk unaided which is like having a new life given back to me, the stress on my wife has gone and we both enjoy the things and hobbies we used to do many many years ago. Thank you to this wonderful surgeon for his dedication to his patients and his knowledge of being the best Orthopaedic Surgeon in his field.
Patient after complex re-do Surgery of the hip
After breaking my hip in a simple fall, a surgeon (not Mr Kim) repaired it with a bi polar hip replacement. Months later I was still unable to walk, endured constant debilitating pain, and had lost faith in that surgeon. Despite reassurances to the contrary, I knew something was wrong and decided I needed a new orthopaedic surgeon to help put it right. But who? I not only needed a consultant surgeon with the right skills but also someone I could trust.
Based on his qualifications, experience and specialism, after careful research, I chose Mr Winston Kim from a list of four consultant orthopaedic surgeons recommend to me by a trusted source.
From our first meeting in assessment clinic, through diagnosis of the need for full hip replacement revision surgery, to pre-op and post-op meetings, and the day of surgery itself, Mr Kim built my confidence, retained my trust, and used his skills to reconstruct my hip. Throughout the process, Mr Kim listened, understood, explained and, above all, cared.
Today, three weeks after surgery, I am weight bearing and walking with sticks. The operation was a complete success and over the next few months, with exercise and physiotherapy to rebuild my muscles, Mr Kim sees no reason why I shouldn’t regain full mobility.
My choice of Mr Winston Kim was definitely the right decision. You put your trust and your life in your surgeons hands. Mr Kim has given me back my life and rebuilt my trust. I would recommend him to anyone.
Young active patients after hip replacement
Many thanks to you and your team for the way that you took care of us during our hip replacements.Patient C and ID
Patient after hip replacement
I would like to express my sincere thanks to Mr Kim, who operated on my hip this year. His skill has made my life pain free after 20 years of suffering. Patient AH
Young patient after a hip replacement
After 3 years of pain and wrongly interpreted x-rays I was still diagnosed as having mild osteoarthritis and possible back problems but could not marry this with the severe pain I was having. Eventually I went to a local well respected physiotherapist who suspected more serious problems and recommended that I saw Mr. Kim, who she clearly held in high esteem, and felt would lead me through what was a much less than simple situation. Mr. Kim immediately put me at ease and as a result of more appropriate X-rays and scans he arrived at an action plan, but involved me in his impressive logic and decision processes throughout. He also liaised closely with my physiotherapist, which I thought was excellent and valuable for everyone involved. I recently underwent a completely successful hip replacement and will need knee replacements in the not too distant future, but I feel so fortunate to be in the safe, capable and considerate hands of Mr. Kim.
PS. I have been told by all that have seen it that my operation scar is a work of art!!
Young patient after hip replacements
Mr Winston Kim has recently replaced both my hips. Throughout the procedure from pre op to after care I have found him very professional, reassuring and helpful. I am absolutely thrilled with everything about my two new hips!!! I now have a much better quality of life. I would definitely recommend this procedure and Mr Kim to anyone who is thinking of having hip surgery.
Patient after Hip Replacements
Thank you so much for giving me a new lease of life after my two hip operations. You have done a terrific job! You come highly recommended and I hold you in the highest esteem
Patient after hip replacement surgery
Thank you for your skills and the care you showed me during my recent hip operation. Patient MC
Patient after Revision (re-do) Hip Surgery
Thank you Mr Kim for deciding to carry out such a complex operation on my ancient hip! As you can see it has been a complete success; Patient ME
Young patient after hip replacement surgery
It is exactly a year since you gave me a new hip. It is working very well. We have been to see our son in Konstanz and holiday in Venice where I walked for miles. We also celebrated our silver wedding and I could dance!. Patient CG
Patient after hip replacement surgery
Thank you for the consummate skills you demonstrated in replacing my hip joint last Monday, 24th Sept. I have expereienced almost no discomfort since and look forward to an enhanced quality of life in the near future. Patient BL
Listen to patients who had Hip Pain, Deciding on Hip Surgery and after Hip Surgery

Write a review

If you're interested in submitting a testimonial for Mr. Winston Kim, Please use the form below to do so.

Thanks!

Fields marked ( * ) are required